SEMITENDINOSUS – COMRADES SPECIAL

SEMITENDINOSUS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until 24 hours ago I had never heard from the Semi Tendinosus tendon before. This little guy runs through the back of your thigh and is quite a low key but important part of the hamstrings (medial) muscles. Anyway, enough of my poor and inadequate anatomy knowledge. Coming back from La Palma I felt strong and healthy having had a great block of training preceding that trip as well as being able to take in the VK route and the run up from Los Canarios twice whilst on site in La Palma. Coming back to the UK I felt that I had achieved and had managed to get a decent amount of training in while working there covering the Transvulcania Ultramarathon for www.irunfar.com. Its always a challenge balancing training with covering a race so to get three quality sessions in one trip was good going.

Two days from returning from La Palma and I am hobbling after running two miles of a four mile recovery run on a flat Thames embankment. I was in bits. What had happened to cause this? A massage, two physio visits and diligently keeping to a twice daily strengthening regime and I am still none the wiser. What I am wise to, is that I cancelled my trip to South Africa last night and my first attempt at running Comrades. To say that I am shell shocked and devastated would be an understatement.

Now to pick myself up and get 100% uninjured and back out running. I do realise that in the overall scheme of things there are far worse things that could happen to you, just look at what happened to Dave Mackey recently (and I wish him a speedy recovery), but every runner will sympathise to the sudden taking away of a goal race. Is it worse to DNS or DNF?

Image – http://pixshark.com/semitendinosus-tendon.htm

 

5 thoughts on “SEMITENDINOSUS – COMRADES SPECIAL

  1. ashokdaniel

    Gutted for you mate, know how much you trained for this one! But it’s a wise decision to DNS rather than do further damage especially since it’s on tarmac. The race will always be there, hope you make a swift recovery and get in good shape for CCC!

    Reply
    1. Ian Campbell Post author

      mate – thanks – its been an awful two and a bit weeks. i had actually cancelled and rebooked flights and then finally cancelled them. the pain of not making the start line. my list of DNS is getting longer and its not pretty!
      i am on for CCC, I’ve also in for Bournemouth marathon and i entered the TNF 50 in December. Now its time to heal and become 100% injury free. see you in Italy.

      Reply
      1. ashokdaniel

        Yea I can relate to that after being injured all winter, hope you come back stronger and you’ve still got two good races ahead to focus on 🙂

  2. debrabourne

    Sympathies, Ian. I missed Comrades last year because of my torn posterior tibial tendon and associated enforced break from running; at least I had longer to get used to the idea I wouldn’t be there. Be sensible, rest, get the tendon sorted, don’t try and do too much too soon…

    Reply
    1. Ian Campbell Post author

      Hi Debra – hope to see you out on the trails. I have been very sensible with the rehab and recovery. I want to have at least some time out running this summer so will take the enforced rest and recovery – see you around and thanks for your message.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

